Skip to product information
1 of 8

Pinnacle Brass

Berry- Quartet No. 1

Berry- Quartet No. 1

Regular price $29.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $29.95 USD
Sale Sold out

Quartet No. 1 is Andrew Berry’s first completed composition for Tuba/Euphonium quartet.

While there is no real programmatic story behind the music, various themes are introduced and developed throughout the three movements to create a sensation of “conflict and resolution”.

The first movement is mostly composed of dance-like figures that want to be in major harmonies, however often succumb to minor harmonies. The second movement presents new ideas of conflict and searches for resolutions. These resolutions are usually met with defeat and the performers are challenged with new but familiar ways to continue combating these conflicts. The final movement is a series of more dances that present conflict at its most extreme, however is abruptly resolved at the end of the piece as the quartet celebrates with joyous flourishes in the euphonium parts. Each of the four parts are demanding in their own way, and the quartet as a whole is best suited for an experienced undergraduate ensemble or a graduate/professional ensemble.

View full details