Skip to product information
1 of 1

Hal Leonard

Golland, John - Concerto No. 1

Golland, John - Concerto No. 1

Regular price $27.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $27.95 USD
Sale Sold out

Difficulty:  IV-V

Length:  18:00

Written in three segue movements:  Cadenza-Lento, Andante tranquillo, Allegro.  This concerto remains one of the most rewarding and demanding concerti because of range, duration, and dynamics needed to balance ensemble.  The opening cadenza covers two and half octaves (quickly).  The first movement also features a large amount of technical interplay between band and soloist.  There are moments of clever interjection and wonderful lyrical hemiolas.  There is a significant cadenza that highlights triple tonguing, singing high tessitura, and rhythmic intensity before the lush 5/8 second movement begins.  This movement emphasizes the raising octave and high range control and contains some exquisite writing for the euphonium.  It may certainly be one of the most heart felt melodic moments in the entire repertoire and works well individually.  Moving into the exciting Allegro features mixed meter, multiple tonguing, and a jovial nature.  The shift from style to style helps hasten the work to the conclusion.  A reprise of the opening cadenza with some development propels the work to the final coda.  This work is a highly recommended work. 

Parts: BC and TC

View full details