Skip to product information
1 of 7 Publications

O'Toole, Anthony - Euphonium Concerto No. 2

O'Toole, Anthony - Euphonium Concerto No. 2

Regular price $24.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $24.95 USD
Sale Sold out

Difficulty:  IV  Length:  15:00

The Concerto No. 2 for Euphonium was commissioned by Jack Salter in the summer of 2012. It was completed that fall and performed early that winter at Edinboro University in Erie, PA. During the commission process, it was indicated that this concerto would be programmatic and follow a story Jack had written himself. The concerto is written in four movements:
Movement 1: The Big City - The story revolves around an Irish immigrant coming to New York in the mid 1920’s. The movement opens with a musical portrait of the skyscrapers and hustle and bustle of city life. This movement has 1 central theme and is set many different ways. Near the end of the first movement, the immigrant heads to a local tavern after a long day and enjoys a few drinks and the company of his friends. The theme is set in a traditional ragtime style to emulate the old ‘honky-tonk’ bars. It gets to rowdy and he is kicked out on the curb thus ending the movement with a lonely solo cadenza.
Movement 2: Atlantic Journey - After his trouble at the tavern he gets himself in trouble with the police and he is deported back to Ireland. He waves goodbye to the city and boards a steam ship sad to be leaving his new home. This movement is in a ABA form with a distinctly different B section. The tune returns and slowly fades away.
Movement 3: Intermezzo - While on the boat he find an enchanting woman and they fall in love immediately. This movement is slow and expressive and presents a few musical ideas and also shares a similar form to the second movement. Their love I brief as she dies of malnutrition and disease on the crowded steamer.
Movement 4: Jig - This movement celebrates his return to the emerald isle with a festive Irish dance. 


View full details